There is a lot of uncertainty in the air when you are facing DWI charges. You are likely worrying about the penalties that come with a conviction, as well as the implications for your education if you are currently enrolled at a university.
Clearing away the uncertainty is the first step toward preparing a strong defense for your case. By understanding the circumstances under which a DWI can lead to expulsion from a college or university, you can move forward with greater confidence.
When can a DWI lead to expulsion?
It is not common for a university to expel a student for a first-time DWI unless there are aggravating circumstances. If driving while intoxicated results in you harming another individual, however, your university might take harsher action. Repeat offenses are also increasingly likely to lead to expulsion.
What are the other consequences of a DWI?
Louisiana DWI laws outline different penalties for various conviction circumstances. A first-time DWI conviction entails a maximum of 6 months in prison and fines of up to $1,000, while a third conviction maxes out at 5 years of jail time and as much as $2,000 in fines. If someone dies as a result of your drunk driving, you might face up to 30 in prison.
While the Louisiana courts treat some cases of DWI as misdemeanor offenses, all such cases have the potential to seriously impact your life. A DWI conviction might even affect your college career, so it is important to take the necessary steps toward a favorable outcome in court.